Iran Blocks YouTube, Blames Borat

Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad has announced this week that as of 1 January 2007 internet video services provider YouTube will be blocked at the ISP level in his country.

President Ahmadinejad made the announcement in a press conference today that the proliferation of the Borat videos on YouTube and the support that Borat is raising against their neighbor Kazakhstan, will not be tolerated anymore in his country.

Kazakhstan’s Deputy Foreign Minister, Rakhat Aliyev, has welcomed the ban stating “we welcomed Borat (aka actor Sacha Baron Cohen) to come here and see the damage he has done to our country but he not come. Praise to President Ahmadinejad for doing something proactive to stop Borat.”

However President Ahmadinejad has retaliated at the idea he agreed to the blockage of YouTube on the basis that one his neighbors is being hurt by the videos on YouTube. His concerns are of Sacha Baron Cohen’s next character portrayal.

“I’m not fussed if they (the Kazakhs) are getting the mickey taken from them by Borat directly – that’s their battle to fight. But I hear Cohen is thinking of making me his next character. I just can’t have that.” Ahmadinejad noted.

“I am just watching what Borat can do to one country and how YouTube has made that popular. What hope do I have with my people if they start making fun of me on YouTube? I mean there’s so many things they can do to poke fun at me – and I don’t like it.”

“I’m having too much trouble with Condi at the moment and all this talk of war. The last thing I need is Borat making fun of me.”

In response to the Ahmadinejad’s comments and concerns, YouTube executives released statistics to the media today identifying that Iranian people made up 0.000000000023 of all hits on YouTube on a daily basis.

“Really, we don’t give a rat’s arse about this move by the Iranian government to block us from their country. However, we are in talks with Cohen to produce a goofy Iranian president character with sadistic ways that we can promote on YouTube to 199 other countries around the world”, spokesman Ronald Johnson stated today.


Digg!

Leave a Reply

